Week 7 – Gratitude, Love, and the Law of Substitution

As I typed this out I discovered this blog is a little long. Since the MKMMA folks took the photo read course on Tuesday, this will be a breeze. –LOL —

Scroll Two – I begin this day with love in my heart.

When I start each day with “I begin THIS day with LOVE in MY HEART!” in the forefront of my being, I discovered that opportunities to serve abound.

As an example: This week my former supervisor retired from his job. I went to the small get-together at a local restaurant/bar for his retirement party. I had retired two years before so it was good to see a lot of my old colleagues I had not seen in a while. People were just about the same, complaining about how bad they were being treated, how the company was screwing them, etc. They are letting the world without control them, when in fact it is a good place to work and they are paid a king’s ransom for the work they do. I did not judge or engage in their misery (stayed on the mental diet). I was positive and pointed out good things but would not debate.

One of the young guys who I had mentored in the electrical trade was also there. When he said management was doing such and such to screw them I stopped him and asked if he would like to do something about it. Once I had permission (that way I was not giving him a random opinion) I suggested that he was not that important, that the management team was not conspiring to hurt the working people. They were doing what they were doing because that was their DNA or just the way they did things. He was well paid, got to go home each night to his family, got vacations, had a safe place to work, etc.

Here is the solution I suggested. I asked him to tell me some of the good things about work, then some of the good things about his home life. He created quite a list. I asked him to do me a favour. Put 5 to 10 things on a 3X5 card, things that he was grateful for, that he loved about his life, things he would not want to do without. And to read each point 3 times per day PLUS every time something negative happened around him. Read the point slowly and charge it with positive emotion of love or joy or the emotion that fits. I asked him what he would feel about the negativity around him. He agreed it would be gone, not only would work be better but so would his home life.

The world within would create a more positive world without. He shook my hand and thanked me and told me he would do this for sure. That he would check in with me next week and let me know how it is going.

I did not approach him with my opportunity; this was not the time or the place. I was adding value, not going there to prospect.

I had done this exercise before the MKMMA course, just not every day and as often as I do now. I have added this activity to one of my 3X5 cards and charged it with emotion. I call it my Blessing Card.

Think of some things in your life you are grateful for. Here is some for me.
• I’m a child of God, not of any works on my part but by the grace of God.
• I belong to a local sovereign grace church.
• My wife of 32 years loves me and I love her. We love spending time together.
• I have two beautiful adult daughters, one son in-law and a granddaughter.
• I live in Canada, have a small farm and everything is paid for.
• I have optimum health, am drug-free and outside the medical system.
• Have freedom of religion and travel [many places in the world this is not the case]
• Retired at 52 years old (no work pension) because of the value we add as Network Marketers.
• Our amazing Network Marketing company and all the great partners we have.
• The ability and desire to serve others.
• Money is not a daily concern for us.
• My parents are both alive and doing well.
• My siblings are doing well, as are their kids

Every day I think of more things I am grateful for. Other examples are:

• Hot water; in the shower I always think how fortunate we are that we can turn a tap on and have hot water. 150 years ago, kings did not have this.
• Variety of food; I have never been hungry like so many people have been.
• Roof over our head.
• Good vehicles to drive.
• Safety in our community.
• Friends and business partners.
• Go90Grow and MKMMA.
• on and on I could go.

When I read my list, I am so humbled and grateful and filled with joy.

It may be easier for me to do the mental diet as I have been on this for a while without knowing it. Day one was good, messed up once on day two. Reset, start over, now have completed day one and day two today.

I am grateful to MKMMA for stretching me to up my game in life. I love reading Greatest Networker (it is Greatest Salesman but I changed the name). Scroll two is a blessing.

My PPN’s are Autonomy and True Health. A good quote from Og that fits my True Health PPN is “And most of all I love myself. For when I do I ZEALOUSLY inspect all things which enter my body, my mind, my soul and my heart. Never do I overindulge the requests of my flesh; rather I cherish my body with cleanliness, moderation and proper exercise. I never allow my mind to be attracted to evil and despair, rather I uplift it with the knowledge and wisdom of the Holy Spirit. Never do I allow my soul to become complacent and satisfied with average, rather I feed it with meditation and prayer. Never do I allow my heart to become small and bitter, rather I share it and it grows and warms the earth.”

“I greet this day with LOVE IN MY HEART”

I am grateful for the Law of Substitution to help me stay on the mental diet. Quickly substitute anything negative with any of the first list above. I have pictures of my granddaughter in my mind and my walls. Yellow boxes, Green triangles, Red circles, Blue rectangles are everywhere and are a blessing in my times of need.

To wrap this up. It is my opinion that all of us doing the MKMMA course have a lot to be grateful for. What are you grateful for?

20 thoughts on “Week 7 – Gratitude, Love, and the Law of Substitution

  1. Fred, that’s a fabulous blog post! Thank you for your inspirational words. What am I grateful for? My wonderful husband, who is seeing changes in me and is intrigued by my MKMMA assignments, etc. I am grateful, too, for the creators and staff of the MKMMA programme, and the wonderful community of MKMMAers who make the work expand exponentially. Mahalo.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome!!!! I am grateful for waking up everyday and getting the opportunity to restart when the day before didn’t go as well as I wanted. I am grateful for this MKMMA to awaken what has always been inside me. I am grateful for you Thank You for caring so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am grateful for your wonderful blog! I feel like a new person just having read it . I love your blessing card . I wish you all the best Fred but you already have it . (Ok I just wish you more of it) I’m getting my finger out ! Thanks really appreciated reading this

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment